Jackson Safety Insight Review
Verdict: Jackson's Insight on the HLX shell has a 1/1/1/1 lens and four sensors on a very light shell, but switches slower than the other premium picks.
It's in the $150–$300 band, with a spec score of 68/100.Compare it with the top picks in our best welding helmets ranking and the best auto-darkening helmets list.
We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How this works.
- Shade9–13 (light state not stated)
- Viewing area3.8 × 2.35 in (8.9 sq in)
- Arc sensors4
- Switching1/10,000 s
- Optical class1/1/1/1
- WeightNot published
- CertificationsANSI Z87.1-2010, CSA compliant
- Best forMIG · stick
Who the Jackson Safety Insight Digital Variable ADF (HLX shell) is for — and who should skip it
Buy it if: MIG and stick welders who want a 1/1/1/1 lens on a lightweight shell.
Skip it if: Low-amp TIG welders, who are better served by a 5–8 range and faster switching.
Pros and cons
Pros
- 1/1/1/1 optical class and four sensors, per Jackson
- Digital weld, torch and grind modes
- Very light HLX shell; ANSI Z87.1-2010 and CSA
Cons
- 1/10,000 s switching — the slowest verified figure among our auto-darkening picks
- Shade 9–13 only
- Mixed buyer reports on build quality and headgear stability; no full-helmet weight published
Our review
Jackson lists the Insight (46131) with a 3.80 × 2.35 in view, 1/1/1/1 optical class, four sensors, shade 9–13, digital controls for weld, torch and grind, and ANSI Z87.1-2010 / CSA compliance.
Its weak spot on paper is speed: Jackson gives 1/10,000 s, slower than the 1/25,000 s of most helmets here. Jackson quotes 6 oz for the HLX shell, but that is not a complete-helmet weight, so we don't use it to rank.
Buyers like the price and light weight; construction and headgear stability get mixed reports.
Full specs and sources
| Spec | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Shade range | 9–13 (light state not stated) | Manufacturer weld/torch/grind modes |
| Optical class (EN 379) | 1/1/1/1 | Manufacturer 'newly updated to highest optical class' |
| Viewing area | 3.8 × 2.35 in (8.9 sq in) | Manufacturer ≈ 96.5 x 59.7 mm, 8.9 in²; Amazon says 3.94 x 2.36 |
| Lens / plate size | Not published | — |
| Arc sensors | 4 | Manufacturer |
| Switching speed | 1/10,000 s | Manufacturer |
| Low-amp TIG rating | Not published | — |
| Certifications | ANSI Z87.1-2010, CSA compliant | Manufacturer |
| Weight | Not published | — |
| Power | Not published | — |
| Warranty | Not published | — |
Spec score: 68/100 (verified specs only — not a test score)
| Part | Basis | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Optical class | 1/1/1/1 | 25/25 |
| Viewing area | 8.9 sq in | 17/25 |
| Arc sensors | 4 | 15/15 |
| Switching speed | 1/10,000 s | 5/10 |
| Weight | not verified | 0/10 |
| Warranty | not verified | 0/5 |
| Value | $150–$300 | 6/10 |
Alternatives to the Jackson Safety Insight Digital Variable ADF (HLX shell)
Hobart Inventor (Black)
Hobart's Inventor 770890 gives you four sensors, a 100 × 60 mm window and ANSI/CSA/EN 379 compliance in the $60–$150 band; Hobart does not publish an optical class.
$60–$150
ESAB Sentinel A60
ESAB's Sentinel A60 has the largest 1/1/1/1 window we could verify (118 × 71 mm) and the longest certification list of any helmet here.
$300–$600
Where it ranks
Changelog: Oct 2026: First published. Every pick checked against manufacturer specs and Amazon availability.